Planning Commission



  • John Reid, Chair (01-11-24)
  • Bruce Riddle, Vice Chair (02-07-25)
  • Tobias "Toby" Dayman, Clerk (06-28-24)
  • Dillon Bianchi (09-05-25)
  • John Heath (03-22-24)
  • Colin Butler (07-12-24)
  • Kim Souza, Selectboard Liaison
The Hartford Planning Commission is authorized by Title 24 of the Vermont Statutes, Chapter 117 to: prepare a Town Plan and amendments; propose and administer the Zoning and Subdivision Regulations; undertake studies and make recommendations on land development issues; recommend codes and enforcement procedures; prepare capital budgets and programs; participate in regional planning issues; enter and examine properties; and work with other departments and agencies on planning issues.  

Seven Commissioners are appointed by the Selectboard to fill three-year terms.  The Commission holds public hearings on all proposed subdivisions, planned developments, and zoning and master plan amendments.  The Commission also conducts reviews of site plans for all new or altered uses except one- or two-unit dwellings and their related structures, home occupations, home businesses, agricultural and forestry uses, and essential services.  

If you wish to correspond with Members by mail please address to Department of Planning and Development, 171 Bridge Street, White River Junction, VT 05001
To leave a message please call 802-295-3075.